Life on the Cusp

It seems like I spend so much of my life on the cusp of things, anticipating what’s right around the corner. I spend more time just about to start some new habit or practice, or restart something I’ve fallen away from, than I do immersed in the thick of them. The kid perpetually on the diving board getting ready to jump in.

Last October F and I went for our getaway, and I was in the process of writing about it, was just on the cusp of posting it, in early November. And then the election happened. And in the midst of all of that upheaval, writing about a motorcycle trip just seemed… too small. Who would want to read that when it felt like democracy was falling apart?

And then I got out of the habit of writing, and I started  a new job, and then it was the holidays, and winter hibernation months settled in, and, and, and. Until eventually, finally, I found that a little part of my brain was getting ready to start writing again. “March,” I told myself. “It’s okay that I spent the winter regrouping and relaxing, but in March I’ll get back at it.”Aaaand here it is April 4th. I guess I had one more month of hovering at the edge to do. But now it feels like the whole world is waking up, and I’m waking up along with it. Nature is on the cusp of something new, green fuzzing the tips of branches and poking up out of the ground, birds launching themselves into song, daylight hanging on a few minutes longer each day.

And, of course, that means that riding season is right around the corner, too.

So, it’s time to dust off the blog and get back to writing about all the things I love about riding. And there’s so much to say! I still have to write about the fabulous trip we took up north last fall. We’ve made a point of visiting new Big Boys to share, and even more are closing around the state. We have another great roadtrip planned for May. I got new gear for Christmas. MotoGP season has started.  And! I’m on the cusp of a mighty big new motorcycling adventure, a view that isn’t from the back of the bike…

Stay tuned!

via Daily Prompt: Cusp

7 thoughts on “Life on the Cusp

  1. I looking forward to hearing of your motorcycle adventures. I didn’t want to spam my link into your comment field, but if you are interested, you might want to see my post about “A Prudent Ride on the Tail of the Dragon” in response to yesterday’s Daily Prompt “prudent.”

    Like

  2. I enjoyed this… took me back to when my husband and I were first together and our only mode of transport was his motorbike. I loved being on the back of that bike with the wind streaming through my hair.. rainy days – painful and horrible! 😝

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

